This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Research Guide: History of the U.S. from 1876

This guide will point students to print and online sources which are useful when researching historical topics.

Primary Sources in Print

REF E173   M62 2008 Milestone Documents in American History
REF E173 A15 1994 100 Key Documents in American Democracy
REF E 161 D35 2012 Daily Life through American History in Primary Documents
   

Reference sources - History of the U.S. from 1876

The Library owns a number of print reference and electronic reference sources which will support historical research.  Reference tools are a good place to begin one's search.  The following are some specific titles which can be used for the time period covered by History 106 - History of the U.S. from 1876.

   
Ref. E 174 D52 2003 Dictionary of American History
Ref. E 174 E53 2003 Encyclopedia of American History
Ref. E 185 E54 2006 Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the Americas
Ref. D 840 E63 2008 Encyclopedia of the Cold War
Ref. E 169.1 E626 2001 Encyclopedia of the U.S. in the 19th Century
Ref. E 183.7 E52 2002 Encyclopedia of American foreign policy
Ref. HA 202 H57 2006 Historical statistics of the United States : earliest times to the present
Ref. KF 4548 E53 2000 Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Ref. E 169.12 A419 1996 American Decades 1900-1999
Ref. E 169.12 F498 2005 The 50's, 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's in America (multivolumes)
Ref. KF 4747.5 E53 2006 Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties

 

Salem History

Salem History is a collection of Web-based ebooks that deal with a number of topics.  The following sources are included in Salem History:

  • The Encyclopedia of American Immigration
  • Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
  • Milestone Documents in American History (1940s-1990s)
  • Milestone Documents in World History
  • American Decades: 40's, 50's, 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's

Statista