History Research Guide: History of the U.S. to 1876
This guide will point students to print and online sources which are useful when researching historical topics.
History of the U.S. to 1876 - web sites
There are a number of quality research-oriented websites available that may assist in locating information about United States history. In addition to the general history web sites listed under the web sites tab, the following may be of interest.
- America's Historical Documents - National ArchivesA huge collection of well known and not so well known primary sources with background information for each document.
- American Memory (Library of Congress)American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Making of AmericaMaking of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Browsable by subject or searchable by keyword.
- U.S. History - Pre-Columbia to New MilleniumA free online textbook authored by historians and sponsored by the Independance Hall Association of Philadelphia. It is organized chronologically with links to text and other suggested readings throughout.
Primary Sources
Use these resources to find out about primary sources, what they are, and where to find them.
E-books:
Bartleby's - A selection of ebooks that includes primary source material. In particular, check out the titles "World's Famous Orations," and "Harvard Classics," for some great examples.
Web-based information:
- Avalon Project at Yale Law SchoolLegal documents, treaties, and orations from throughout history, worldwide, going back to 4000 BCE. Also links to analytical and supporting documents.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryA gateway to a collection of primary documents on European History, from Prehistoric to Modern.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebooka huge collection of links to text files, museums, images, etc. Includes some primary sources.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebooka huge collection of links to text files, museums, images, etc. Includes some primary sources.
- Perseusa huge digital library of ancient texts and commentary. Searchable by keyword. Includes some primary sources.
- Primary Sources: The Library: University of California-BerkeleyA comprehensive source for learning what constitutes a primary versus a secondary source, including a list of examples.
Maryland History
- Maryland Historical SocietyDigital collections
- Historical Society of Carroll CountySee Research Resources under the Library tab and About Our Collections under the Museum tab