History Research Guide: HIST 105 Annotated Bibliography
This guide will point students to print and online sources which are useful when researching historical topics.
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
- Annotated BibliographiesFrom the Purdue Online Writing Lab
Choosing a Topic
Use the textbook or one of the sources below to identify a topic of interest from 1840-1865 in America & to gather background information & search terms.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the nineteenth centuryCall Number: REF E169.1 E626 2001ISBN: 0684805006Use this encyclopedia, along with the textbook, to become familiar with the major events in U.S. history during the antebellum period and the Civil War in order to choose a topic
Encyclopedia of American social historyCall Number: FOILO E 174.5 E524 1993ISBN: 0684192462See articles on the Antebellum Era (pg. 105), The Deep South (pg. 1045), The Plantation (pg. 1197), Slavery (pg. 1407), Labor (pg. 1447)
U.S. History Print Sources & Primary Documents (Antebellum Period - Civil War)
Dictionary of American history.Call Number: REF E174 D52 2003ISBN: 0684805332Use Vol. 9 which include maps & primary sources
Encyclopedia of American historyCall Number: REF E174 E53 2003ISBN: 081604371XUse volumes 4 & 5 of this set to find information about the antebellum & Civil War periods & primary documents relating to those periods.
Milestone documents in American history : exploring the primary sources that shaped AmericaCall Number: REF E173 M62 2008ISBN: 9780979775802Available in print & as an ebook
Daily life through American history in primary documentsCall Number: REF E 161 D35 2012ISBN: 9781610690324Use Vol. 2 which covers the American Revolution through the Civil War
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War : a political, social, and military historyCall Number: REF E468 H47 2000ISBN: 1576070662Use Vol. 5 of this set to find primary documents relating to the Civil War
Slavery in the United States : a social, political, and historical encyclopediaCall Number: REF E441 S635 2007ISBN: 1851095446See Vol. 2 for primary documents
Finding Primary Documents
- Reference Resources: Primary DocumentsTips on how to find primary documents in the catalog, through Interlibrary Loan, & on the Internet plus some suggested websites
History database
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowThis database includes primary documents. Use the Advanced Search to limit the search to the period you want under Timeline & then search a topic. Limit the search to Primary Documents in the left margin of the Result List under Source Types.
Historical Newspaper Databases
It is recommended that prior to searching newspaper databases you zero in on a specific person, event, date of interest & then limit the search by date. Otherwise, due to the nature of newspapers, the results list may be extremely long & narrowing to relevant articles more difficult.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window