Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Based Films & Media
One can find free streamed media on the Internet as another resource for historical research. The following sites provide access to streamed films and sound files.
an award winning PBS series dealing with a wide range of historical topics including all periods of American history from colonial through contemporary.
Annenberg Media (learner.org)
a collection of free educational films including such titles as "The Constitution: A Delicate Balance" and "Democracy in America." Requires one time free registration. These films are also accessible through the Library's online catalog
C-Span Video Library
an archive of over 125,000 C-Span programs searchable and viewable on the web. C-Span provides 24 hour coverage of government proceedings and public affairs programming from 1987 to date
Have Fun with History: American History Videos
includes over 170 films many of which are from the early part of the 20th Century.
Internet Moving Images Archive
a huge collection of uploaded films reflecting a wide range of cultural pheonmenon including cartoons, news, public affairs, arts, sports, etc. A remarkable collection of cultural filmed artifacts
Films and Media in the Library
Films are a particularly rich media for presenting historical information. One can search for films in the Library's online catalog by restricting a search to the Video keyword search box. Instructional films are intended for classroom use and cannot be checked out of the Library, however; they may be viewed on workstations in the Library.
The following historical films may be of interest:
- Witches of Salem - Classroom Video 363
- The American Revolution - Classroom Video 858 (6 tapes)
- American Visions: The Republic of Virtue - Classroom Video 799 (program 1)
- American Visions: The Promised Land - Classroom video 799 (program 2)
- The Civil War - Classroom Video 1086 (9 tapes)
- Lewis & Clark: explorers of the New Frontier - Classroom Video 1159
- Roots of Resistance: A Story of the Underground Railroad - Classroom Video 906